Mastectomy is a large surgical procedure and can result in nine different types of scar tissue. Testing procedures are clearly presented using both research based disability questionnaires and physical impairment testing method. Both tests can be used to evaluate the effectiveness of your treatment. The physical impairment tests can be used before and after single treatments.

 Your reading material

A 79 page document with active links to references ( abstracts or free full paper access)

Section 1 Types of mastectomy surgery

Section 2  Physical dysfunction linked to mastectomy

Section 3  Mastectomy scar tissue types

Section 4  Assessments for mastectomy scar tissue

Section 5  Assessment of other impairments


Your video material

Video 1 The research behind the need for assessment

Video 2 POSAS

Video 3 Mastectomy scar types

Video 4: Assessment using barrier method

Video 5: Use of ROTB test and barrier assessment

Two slide presentations: palpation techniques, test observation skills

Assessment project

Module 2 - Mastectomy Assessment

  • Download the brochure